Tucson 10U Dbacks win USSSA Ice Breaker Classic Tournament in Peoria

Posted by : | On : 02-11-2013 | Comments (0)
After going undefeated in the USSSA Winter Nationals Super NIT in December, the Tucson 10U Dbacks won their second-straight tournament in Peoria, Ariz.

The Dbacks claimed the 10U Majors Division crown at the Ice Breaker Classic on Sunday, Feb. 10.

The team went 3-1 in the tournament with wins against the Sidewinder Baseball Club and the Toros, two of the better club teams in the state. In the championship game against the Toros, Michael Masunas hit a two-run walk-off home run to seal the tournament victory for the Dbacks. In the four games, the Dbacks outscored their opponents 42-19.

The team had been playing in the AA Division until this weekend when they moved up to the 10U Open Division.

The Dbacks are coached by Jay Butler, Mike Graham, and Rob Welsh.

Here is a list of the players on the Dbacks and the game results from the Ice Breaker Classic:

-Dylan Bradford

-Cole Butler

-Brayden Graham

-Connor Houchin

-Michael Masunas

-Nathan Ortiz

-Joey Parker

-Brady Ruther

-Jake Wiltshire

-Tyler Welsh


Arizona Grinders (Chandler, Ariz.) 8, Dbacks 4

Dbacks 16, AZ Desert Boys (Phoenix) 5

Dbacks 10, Sidewinders (Peoria, Ariz.) 4

Dbacks 12, Toros (Phoenix) 2


If you would like to have a club teams' game results published on the website please send us an email at baseballtucson@yahoo.com.

Write a comment